The Thoughts of a Graduating Senior

12 days.

After today, Friday, November 21, 2014, that’s how many more days of classes I have until my journey here at Trinity Christian College is through. My feelings as of this moment? Scared, uncertain, and nervous. While three and a half years seems like a relatively short amount of time (I’m a history student, remember?), it is hard to recall what life was like before I came to Trinity. And now, it is even harder to imagine what life is going to be like once I leave. It was a lot easier when all I had to do to get ready for next semester was decide on my class schedule. Now, I need to figure out where I am going to work and live, among other decisions. The Hunger Games-like midnight registration rush seems like a cake walk now!

At the same time, I am also excited to see what God has prepared for me. Even when the anxiety of the job search begins to overwhelm, when the silence after submitted applications and completed interviews is deafening , and when I am constantly glued to my email just praying for something to come through, I know that God has the best plan already lined up for me.

One journey may be ending in 12 days, but I am excited to begin my next one. If it is possible, I am both ready and not ready to leave this place. I am ready because I know Trinity has prepared me well and now it is time to move on. However, I am not ready because this place has been my home away from home—I am immensely grateful for my wonderful friendships with the students, faculty, and staff here at Trinity. Because of them, I am a very different person than who I was when I arrived on campus in August 2011.

I used this verse in my blog post last spring, and I would like to close with it again:

“Behold, I go forward, but He is not there, and backward, but I do not perceive Him; on the left hand when He is working, I do not behold Him; He turns to the right hand, but I do not see Him.  But He knows the way that I take; and when He has tried me, I shall come forth as gold.” Job 23:8-10

Whether you are a fellow senior approaching graduation, a freshman still adjusting to campus life, or a faculty member contemplating life’s many decisions, I believe that we all encounter “Where Do I Go from Here?” worries.  During these times, it is sometimes hard to see where God is leading.  The periods of confusion and darkness often seem longer than the moments of joy and clearness. God will continue to lead, though, even when we cannot see it.  And when we arrive at wherever that may be, the golden sunlight will seem so much brighter.

Blessings as you continue on your journeys!

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                           Hannah Wasco

Once a Troll, Always a Troll!

Leave a Reply

