From the Desk of Dyvon

We Are Known by the Company We Keep.

Even further, we are MADE by the company we keep.  I am hyper-alert to this fact.  In high school, all of my close friends were Christians with GPAs above 3.8 and ACT scores above 28.  We weren’t arrogant or even incredibly studious.  We were athletes and leaders.  We all went forward as a group driven by similar values and even a friendly rivalry.  We began to look at B’s as failing.  We had our fun and took plenty of time for recreation, but we always could count on each other to hold to a high academic and moral standard.  I do well because I care about my grades, but I doubt I could have been successful as I was without my friends around me working as I worked and acting as I acted.

When I decided to come to Trinity, I was worried.  This institution is a small private school that accepts mostly everyone that applies and isn’t considered prestigious.  I was worried about my ability to find a community that would help encourage my continued success.  When I realized that Trinity had an honors program, I wrote it off as another club that required all sorts of unnecessary work with little reward.

Then I really gave myself time to think.  This, I realized, was exactly what I was looking for: people who are highly committed to their grades and willing to share life with me on a daily basis, pushing and being pushed.  The honors program was an introduction to the type of partners you need to be successful.  Though it requires a little bit more of me, the experience, the wisdom, and the community of the honors students have really been blessings as I learn to navigate my way through this thing we call college.

I am glad to have the opportunity to push these men and women just as I am pushed.  I am proud to identify with the honors program; they not only define me, but in a way, I know that what I do contributes to them as well.  We are individuals working differently toward the same goals and the actions of each one reflect on all the others.

Therefore, I see this membership as a partnership of accountability.  We have to be accountable to one another if for no other reason than self-interest.  What we do in the program now, the work we put forward, the projects we complete reflect on each of us.  From the freshmen like myself who are yet to be notable to the more prominent upper classmen like the vaunted Sir Mulder.  We define our culture for all the others with each conspicuous action and lay the foundation for continued prominence.  Cut our path and we’ll build your statue.

-Dyvon J. Melling

Leave a Reply

