From Beginning to End

From the desk of first-year HP student, Olivia Winkowitsch

This is a stressful time of year. We are feeling the pressure of upcoming exams, papers, and projects; while getting quite anxious for Thanksgiving break. My desk has started to look like a sea of pink as it has been getting covered with sticky note reminders. I’ve realized that when life becomes especially crazy, I tend to forget about the big picture. One of my favorite verses brings me back to a better frame of mind:

“God has made everything beautiful in His time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men, yet they cannot fathom what He has done from beginning to end.” Ecclesiastes 3:11. 

The first part reminds me of God’s redemption. We have all had losses and hardships in our lives. For me, the farther into the past they recede, the more I can see God’s beauty. Remember arts and crafts at summer camp? One of the projects I did involved taking broken pieces of china and plastering them onto a stepping stone to make a mosaic. I loved how it turned out, and it’s in my family’s flower bed to this day. Our lives can be like that broken china. If we surrender every piece of ourselves (even the broken ones) to the Ultimate Creator, He will mold us for His glory. It may not be in our timing, but His timing is always exponentially better. He makes our lives beautiful, not so other’s can appreciate us more, but so they can see His greatness.

The second part of that verse makes me excited for the future. Our imaginations cannot grasp the concept of eternity, yet that longing is still in our hearts. We play a tiny part in God’s grand scheme for beauty. Even though we don’t know exactly what that plan entails, it is our responsibility to follow both His shouts and whispers. As we continue on in our various projects and tasks, I encourage you to remember the bigger story we are part of: God’s story. Let’s surrender our small plans to work together into God’s beautifully perfect plan for eternity.

Leave a Reply

