from the desk of Simona Sidaugaite

Last year, as a freshman, the question I got practically on a daily basis was:

“What are you majoring in?”

“I’m undecided.”

This usually was followed by a blank stare and a typical, “Oh… you have time.”

After a year of being undecided, I have finally chosen to major in Political Science. So this year, when faced with the same question, “What are you majoring in?” I can proudly respond, “Political Science.” But what I didn’t see coming was the continual answer of “Oh…” and the immediate follow up, “well what are you going to do with that?”

The truth is, most of of my college experience has been this giant feeling of now knowing what is to come next. Before college, life was simple. I knew I wanted to go to a school that was close to home, that I could play basketball at. Trinity was a perfect fit. What I didn’t know, is what I would actually do once I got here.

When people ask me why I have chosen Political Science as my major, I can truthfully respond that it is because I am not interested in any other subject. This usually comes as a surprise because apparently people who do well in school are supposed to enjoy it or something. To be completely honest, I have no idea what I want to do after college with my Political Science degree. I realize that it may not be the most “practical,” but I just can’t seem to force myself to study something that I have zero interest in.

And so with that, I guess the biggest lesson I have learned in college thus far is that it is okay to not have all the answers, whether in a certain class, or in life. It’s okay to not know what you’re going to be doing 5 years from now, or 5 days, or even 5 minutes. Not everything has to be planned out and set in stone. In fact, things seem to go better for me when they’re not.

So I guess what I’m really trying to say in this post is that if you are not sure what you want to do with the rest of your life or haven’t found your exact calling yet – you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

