From our Kenyan Bureau

Overseas Trin Student Leah Laky writes…

Greetings from sunny, hot, Athi River, Kenya! Believe it or not, this Minnesota native could go for some serious snow activities right about now. Three weeks ago today, our group went to Korr, Kenya, which is a village in the Kaisuit Desert in the Northern region of Kenya. To date, this is still the most impactful experience of this African adventure I have had. We got to visit a few traditional hut circles and see their everyday lifestyle. Men are warriors, husbands, fathers, and spend most of their time hunting or harvesting food. Women are wives, crafters, caretakers, cooks, and daughters, who spend most of their time weaving, preparing food, or fetching water.

The thought that has struck me the most from this trip was how different the role of women in their society was in comparison to mine. Women in the Rendille village usually get married at 15 or 16, with only knowing their husband for a few days. As a soon-to-be college graduate who feels as though she doesn’t have much definite direction in life, I wonder: what would it be like to have your future already decided for you? The first night in the village, I was perturbed and even slightly angered at the status of women in this culture (camels hold a higher status than women!). But after one day, I noticed that I was being culturally insensitive to their way of life; that is simply how they function. By the end of our trip, I began to envy the women there, who didn’t have to job search, feel pressure to be educated on a college level in order to survive financially, or wonder for many years whether they will ever fall in love or get married.

What do you think? How would life look for you if you already knew your future role and capacity to move forward? Would you rejoice in the details that make your situation unique or would you struggle at the lack of adventure or spontaneity in life? I’m still quite perplexed about all this, but would love some feedback from you wise people.

In closing, know that you, the Trinity community, are something that exists literally nowhere else. For all of you who still have time there, please, take it from me: cherish every moment and relationship, because it will slip through your fingers before you know it and a life of regret is NOT one that vour loving God ever calls us to.

Peace and love to you all, until we meet again…

Leah

One comment on “From our Kenyan Bureau

  1. Lindsay Slager says:

    Hey Leah!
    It’s so good to hear from you! I hope all is well 🙂
    Unfortunately, I haven’t thought much on your question, although I intend to.
    Instead, I thought I would write to you about your final paragraph. It really struck me. As a fellow senior, I feel the very same way!
    I hope you don’t mind, but I read that paragraph to my Student Activities committee during our meeting last night. It was a nice way of reflecting on the community that we are so blessed with here.
    Thanks for sharing, Leah!
    Lindsay

Leave a Reply

